Sidney Says The Kraken Is Having Thanksgiving Dinner!

The Kraken is cracking the case just like Sidney Powell said it would. The American team is pushing hard and fast, with little sleep if any, fighting…

Sidney Says The Kraken Is Having Thanksgiving Dinner!

Published by Charlotte Coats - ᏣᎳᏘ ᏣᎳᎩ

Artists Statement - Charlotte Coats My work includes Cherokee basket weaving and ancient Chinese brush and ink on various types of rice paper. The Oklahoma double wall is the style woven by Cherokees in Oklahoma after the forced removal. The cane double woven is among the most ancient of baskets woven by the Cherokee. Eva Wolf and Lottie Stamper’s, both early Eastern Band Cherokee weavers, work were among the influences of my cane baskets, as well as ancient designs found in the written literature. In Oklahoma Thelma Forrest was my earliest inspiration. Betty Frogg, Roger and Shawna Cain among my instructors. My Oklahoma style is from Mavis Doering. For me, basket weaving keeps me connected with my ancestors, it is indeed a spiritual connection. “What makes these baskets unique is the double wall, a basket woven within a basket”, Betty Frogg 2017. It is the history of our people and will continue to be passed down one generation to another. Ancient Chinese brush and ink was first suggested to me by a young Cherokee man I worked with at one time. He actually introduced me to the name of Master Henry Li. His style is mystic and free flowing. This style again is very much a spiritual experience. Many of the stories and traditions are similar to Cherokee stories and both have a close connection with the natural world of nature. There is a grace and natural flow to the brush as it works it’s magic with the ink. There is an interplay by the ink and rice paper that is not found in western style watercolor. My work is an expression of my deepest abyss, with the hope the viewer will see something of themselves in it. That it will stir those ancient emotions of things that are timeless. “A work of art which did not begin in emotion is not art” Cézanne “If you truly love Nature, you will find beauty everywhere.” Van Gogh “Art is a love song between the Artist and her Subjects” Coats

Leave a comment